Miracle At The Nursing Home

English: The Homestead Nursing Home. Nursing H...

As a pastor I have made a lot of nursing home visits. A decade or so ago, they began islolated the patients that had any mental or emotional disturbance. I am sure all of you have been in a nursing home when a patient refuses to be quiet, some hollow for help and others are calling out for their mother. They put these patients in a unit that I call “Lock Down” and you have to key in a code to get in and out. To be honest with you, I don’t like going into these units. We had a woman in one of these units in Huntsville, Alabama which is a ways from Danville. I went to see her one day and I got the nurse to help into the lock down unit. They were all together [about 20 male and female] in one room and all were moaning, shouting, crying or making some form of noise. I knew that if I stayed in there any length of time, I would be disturbed. A black lady who worked in the unit walked up to me and said, “You are a preacher, aren’t you?” I said, “Yes mam, how did you know? Most people never guess that I am a preacher.” She said, “Ah, I can tell”. Then she said, “I want you to preach.” I said, “I don’t have a bible.” She said, “No problem, I just happen to have one.” Then I really tried to get it in reverse, “But mam, I am not prepared, I don’t have anything to say.” She said, “You are a preacher and here is a bible, now preach.” I continued to protest, “Mam, no one is listening. They are all making some kind of wierd noise and I can even hear myself think.” She said, “I’ll introduce you and when I do, you have that bible open and you preach.” She introduced me while I fumbled throught the Psalms and found number 46 and as soon as she introduced me, I started reading as loud as I could without hollowing….

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear,
Even though the earth be removed,
And though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
Though its waters roar and be troubled,
Thoughthe mountains shake with its swelling. Selah

There is a river whose streams shall make glad the city of God,
The holy place of the tabernacle of the Most High.
God is in the midst of her, she shall not be moved;
God shall help her, just at the break of dawn.
 The nations raged, the kingdoms were moved;
He uttered His voice, the earth melted.

The Lord of hosts is with us;
The God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah

Come, behold the works of the Lord,
Who has made desolations in the earth.
He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;
He breaks the bow and cuts the spear in two;
He burns the chariot in the fire.

 Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!

The Lord of hosts is with us;
The God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah

I did not stop reading, but I noticed as I got toward the middle of the reading that the room was getting quiet and by the time I had finished the reading, you could have heard a pin drop. I was so stunned that I was almost speechless. I didn’t say much that day. I shared a few thoughts from the Psalm about change and how hard that is to deal with how we take comfort in the fact that Jesus never changes and does not need to being that He is perfect. I really don’t remember the message, it was not that good; what I remember is how they got quiet when I began reading God’s word and how quiet they sat as I talked about its meaning. I was absolutely blown away. I had never seen anything like it in my entire life. The black nurse was not shocked.

Leave a Reply

